The Scientific Council

A forum for exchanges


The Afnic Scientific Council is a consultative body and a source of analyses and proposals for the Afnic Board of Trustees and its Management. It is composed of 10 members.

  • The Afnic Scientific Council participates to Afnic’s strategy development and anticipates technical issues and socio-economic evolution of the Internet;

  • The council consists of well-known scientists from academia and industry. It meets four times a year.


The Afnic Scientific Council is an advisory body advising Afnic’s Board of Directors and its management. It gives its views on strategic directions for R & D, technology watch and Internet governance. It also contributes to the reflection of Afnic on ways to serve its intended objectives. It provides advice and recommendations to strengthen the presence of Afnic in its ecosystem, inform choices regarding technology trends or encourage the development of innovative products & services.


Scientists from academia and industry


The Afnic Scientific Council inherits an original model which is reflected in its composition. Besides the President of Afnic, its CEO, CTO and Head of Labs, the Scientific Council brings together scientists from both academia and industry. Selected on an intuitu personae basis, in France or abroad, for their recognized expertise in their field, these personalities are appointed for three years by the Board of Directors.


Composition of the Scientific Council for the term 2014-2017


New members :

  • David BIZEUL: CTO for SEKOIA, Founder of inThreat, the first French startup specialized in threat intelligence, creator of the first business CERT (Société Générale), cybersecurity strategist and expert
  • Gordon LENNOX: President of the TDRS association (Technologies, Droits, Responsabilités, Société), former Internet-ambassador for the European Commission, security and personal data expert.
  • Valérie SCHAFER: Professor in contemporary european history, Center for Contemporary and Digital History (C²DH) at University of Luxembourg, Internet historian, expert in the history of computer science and telecommunications.
  • Sandrine VATON: Profesor at IMT Atlantique, researcher for IRISA, expert in network metrology and security, traffic analysis and performance evaluation.


Renewed members:

  • Laurent TOUTAIN: Lecturer at IMT Atlantique, IoT and IPv6 expert, Preisdent of the Afnic Scientific Council
  • José ARAUJO: Director of the Technical and Scientific Departement at ANSSI (Agence Nationale de la Sécurité des Systèmes d'Information), expert in Telecommunications, network securiity and forensics.
  • Pierre BEYSSAC: President of Eriomem, France
  • Isabelle CHRISMENT: Profesor, researcher for Télécom Nancy, Université de Lorraine, Loria – INRIA France, expert in dynamic networks security and supervision
  • Franck SIMON: President of France IX, France
  • Bernard TUY: BT_AE, IPv6 and workspace virtualization expert.


Open to the Internet community


Chaired by a leading figure, the Scientific Council also aims to contribute to creating synergies between AFNIC and national and international scientific community. The Scientific Council interacts with the management and the Board of AFNIC on scientific and technical topics of common interest.


To learn more about its work, visit the Afnic’s Scientific Council Work page.


Lire cette page en français